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Introduction The New Jersey Sales and Use Tax Act provides that most sales of tangible personal property are sub-
ject to tax. These sales include regular and occasional or seasonal sales such as those taking place at 
flea markets.

All businesses are required to register with the State for tax purposes at least 15 business days before 
starting business. To register, a Business Registration Application (Form NJ-REG) must be filed. 
Form NJ-REG may be filed online from the Division of Revenue’s New Jersey Business Gateway 
Services Web site at: www.state.nj.us/njbgs/. You will receive a New Jersey Certificate of Authority 
(Form CA-1) for sales tax if you have indicated on your application that you will collect sales tax or 
purchase materials for resale. This certificate is your authorization from the State of New Jersey to col-
lect sales tax and accept exemption certificates. A seller must always be registered with New Jersey to 
accept exemption certificates. A Public Records Filing may also be required depending upon the type 
of business ownership. For more information on Public Records Filing call 609-292-9292. 

Owners and operators of flea markets are required to register with New Jersey and pay any applicable 
State taxes. They are also required to charge and collect sales tax on the sale or rental of any taxable 
tangible personal property sold or rented to concessionaires, lessees, or others (i.e., display counters, 
racks, tables, etc.). Items for rental or resale may be purchased without paying sales tax provided a 
valid New Jersey Resale Certificate (Form ST-3) or the Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Certificate 
of Exemption (Form ST-SST) is issued to the supplier. The rental charges for space within the flea 
market are not subject to sales tax. If the rental charge includes tangible personal property as part of 
the charge for the space, then the flea market operator is not holding such property out for rental and is 
not entitled to use a resale certificate when purchasing the property.

Examples:  (1) Bob’s Flea Market advertises available space for rent. The ad quotes a price of $10 for 
a space without a table and $12 for a space with a table. The rental charge for either space is not sub-
ject to sales tax. Here, the flea market operator is not renting the tables as such and should have paid 
sales tax, or use tax, when they were purchased. (2) The Greenview Flea Market advertises their avail-
able space at a price of $10 and charges a separate $2 rental fee for a table. In this case, the $10 space 
rental is exempt from sales tax and the $2 charge for renting a table is taxable.

Owners and operators of flea markets should inform all concessionaires, licensees, or lessees using 
space or equipment at the flea market to sell taxable tangible personal property that (1) they are re-
quired to be registered with New Jersey and (2) they must collect and remit sales tax to the State on 
their taxable sales. Registered sellers must display their New Jersey Certificate of Authority at their 
sales location at all times.

Persons regularly engaged in the business of selling taxable tangible property, taxable services, or pre-
pared foods are considered to be sellers under the New Jersey sales tax law and are required to register 
and collect and remit sales tax. Registration is required even if the sales are only made on a seasonal 
basis (e.g., Christmas trees) or if they are only made occasionally (e.g., by an artist or craftsman who 
periodically sells handmade items at shows) during the year.

Sales by persons making isolated or occasional sales of items of tangible personal property which were 
purchased by them for their own use are considered to be “casual sales” and are not subject to tax. Ex-
amples of casual sales are one-time sales of household items, children’s toys, tools, etc. at a yard sale, 
garage sale, or through a classified ad.

Persons regularly engaged in the sale of merchandise at flea markets are presumed to be in the business 
of making retail sales and, therefore, are required to be registered with New Jersey and to charge, col-
lect, and remit New Jersey sales tax. The Certificate of Authority to collect sales tax must be displayed 
at all times.
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http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/revenue/revprnt.htm
www.state.nj.us/njbgs/
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/other_forms/sales/st3.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/other_forms/sales/st_sst.pdf
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Concessionaires, licensees, and lessees are required to register with New Jersey if they sell taxable tan-
gible personal property or services.

The Certificate of Authority issued to a seller (concessionaire) is required to be displayed at the table, 
stand, motor vehicle, or other merchandising device used at their business location. These certificates 
are nonassignable and nontransferable and must be returned to the State immediately upon termination 
of the business. 

A seller who has a permanent place of business other than at a flea market should apply for a duplicate 
Certificate of Authority to display at the flea market location.

Businesses may purchase tangible personal property either for resale in its present form or for incorpo-
ration into other property held for sale without paying sales tax. The exemption also applies to the pur-
chase of services performed on tangible personal property held for sale. When purchasing tax-exempt 
goods or services, a retailer or wholesaler must issue one of the following exemption certificates to the 
supplier.

Businesses Registered in New Jersey. Businesses with locations, employees, independent contrac-
tors, leased tangible personal property, or sales and service activities in New Jersey are required to 
register with New Jersey. Businesses registered with New Jersey should issue a valid New Jersey 
Resale Certificate (Form ST-3) or the Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Certificate of Exemption 
(Form ST-SST) when making tax-exempt purchases of goods and services intended for resale. 

Qualified Out-of-State Sellers. Qualified out-of-State sellers may make tax-exempt purchases in 
New Jersey of goods or services purchased for resale. When the qualified out-of-State seller car-
ries the goods away with him from the point of sale, or sends his own vehicle or messenger to pick 
them up in New Jersey, the qualified out-of-State seller may use the Resale Certificate for Non-New 
Jersey Sellers (Form ST-3NR) or the Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Certificate of Exemption 
(Form ST-SST). “Qualified out-of-State sellers” are sellers that (1) are not registered with New Jersey, 
(2) are not required to be registered with New Jersey, and (3) are registered with another state.

Suppliers accepting an exemption certificate must always be registered with New Jersey and must col-
lect sales tax when a purchaser does not issue the appropriate exemption certificate. For more informa-
tion on exemption certificates, see Tax Topic Bulletin S&U-6, Sales Tax Exemption Administration.

For more information on flea markets and New Jersey sales tax, contact the Division’s Customer 
Service Center at 609-292-6400, e-mail us at nj.taxation@treas.state.nj.us, or write to:

New Jersey Division  of Taxation

Information and Publications Branch

PO  Box  281
Trenton NJ 08695-0281

The following Division of Taxation publications provide additional information on topics mentioned in 
this bulletin: S&U-7, Filing Sales & Use Tax Returns, and ANJ-7, Use Tax in New Jersey.

Many State tax forms and publications are now available by fax and on our Web site. Call NJ TaxFax 
at 609-826-4500 from your fax machine’s phone, or access the Division’s home page at:  
www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/
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http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/other_forms/sales/st3.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/other_forms/sales/st_sst.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/other_forms/sales/st3nr.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/other_forms/sales/st_sst.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/pubs/sales/su6.pdf
https://www.state.nj.us/treas/taxation/contactus_tyttaxa.shtml
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/pubs/sales/su7.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/pubs/sales/anj7.pdf
www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/

