Due to precautionary measures related to COVID-19, the Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services is operating with reduced staffing. This will result in delays in processing work requests for various paper-based business registry transactions delivered over the counter to 33 West State Street or via mail to any of our post office boxes. The delays will affect requests for filing paper business formation and amendment documents and fulfilling orders for various paper-based certifications/reports such as business status reports, records requests and standing certificates, as well as Apostille certificates. In addition, paper returns and checks, in particular those that cannot be processed through our automated systems, may be delayed. During the emergency period, we will not be able to track the status of individual work requests.
We recommend that the general public and business community use our electronic filing and information services, including our tax filing and payment applications, in place of paper-based work whenever possible. Review the links to the many online services we offer on this web site and on the Division of Taxation’s site.
Please additionally note that our walk-in service area at our Trenton office (33 West State Street, 5th Floor) remains closed to the public until at least April 17th and upon further notice. However, our secure drop box at the Trenton office is available for the submission of paper filings and records requests only.
Our call center is operating with reduced staff and is open Monday through Thursday, closed Friday. You may experience significant wait times or delays in responses to telephone inquiries, emails or general correspondence.
Individuals and business representatives are encouraged to use the following avenues as alternatives for the time being:
Please check back here for updates and announcements on reopenings.
Anyone who is operating a collection agency or is in the business of collecting or receiving payment for others of any account, bill, or other indebtedness must annually file a Collection Agency Bond Application. The application will attest that a $5,000 bond has been filed with the State of New Jersey as required by statute.
Please note: All business entities (including out-of-state businesses) must be on file with the State of New Jersey. The "Public Records Filing for New Business Entity" form must be on file before the collection agency bond application is submitted.
When submitting the application, a finance statement from the surety company and an executed Power of Attorney form establishing the Attorney-in-Fact as the Surety's authorized legal representative must be attached. The fee for processing these documents is $25.00. Remember when filing, that two witnesses other than the principal are required for each signature.
Once the application is reviewed by the Attorney General's office, the registration of the bond will be mailed to you.
The application with all attachments and payment should be forwarded to:NJ Division of Revenue