
The State Health Benefi ts Program (SHBP) and School Employees’ Health Benefi ts Program (SEHBP) are required to ensure that only employees, retirees, and 
eligible dependents are receiving health care coverage under the Programs. The New Jersey Division of Pensions & Benefi ts (NJDPB) must guarantee consistent 
application of eligibility requirements within the plans. Employees or retirees who enroll dependents for coverage (spouses, civil union partners, domestic partners, 
children, disabled and/or overage children continuing coverage) MUST submit the following documentation in addition to the appropriate health benefi ts enrollment 
or change of status application. If proper documentation has already been provided and approved, do not resubmit. If appropriate dependent documentation proof 
is not provided, dependents may not be enrolled. ANY DEPENDENTS NOT LISTED ON THE APPLICATION WILL NOT BE COVERED.

DEPENDENTS ELIGIBILITY DEFINITION DOCUMENTATION REQUIRED

SPOUSE

A person to whom you are legally married. A copy of the marriage certifi cate and a copy of the front page of the 
employee/retiree’s federal tax return* (Form 1040) from last year that in-
cludes the spouse. If fi ling separately, submit a copy of both spouses’ tax 
returns that list the same address. If marriage occurred in the current cal-
endar year, a copy of the tax return is not required. Or, if tax return is not 
available, provide a copy of a bank statement or bill (dated within 90 day of 
the application) that includes the names of both spouses and is received 
at the same address.

CIVIL UNION
PARTNER

A person of the same sex with whom you have entered into a 
civil union.

A copy of the marriage certifi cate and a copy of the front page of the 
employee/retiree’s federal tax return* (Form 1040) from last year that in-
cludes the partner. If fi ling separately, submit a copy of both partners’ tax 
returns that list the same address. If marriage occurred in the current cal-
endar year, a copy of the tax return is not required. Or, if tax return is not 
available, provide a copy of a bank statement or bill (dated within 90 day of 
the application) that includes the names of both partners and is received 
at the same address.

DOMESTIC
PARTNER

A person of the same sex with whom you have entered into a do-
mestic partnership. Under P.L. 2003, c. 246, the Domestic Part-
nership Act, health benefi ts coverage is available to domestic 
partners of State employees, State retirees, or employees or re-
tirees of a SHBP - or SEHBP - participating local public entity that 
has adopted a resolution to provide Chapter 246 health benefi ts.

A copy of the New Jersey certifi cate of domestic partnership dated prior 
to February 19, 2007, or a valid certifi cation from another State or foreign 
jurisdiction that recognizes same-sex domestic partners and a copy of 
the front page of the employee/retiree’s N.J. tax return* from last year that 
includes the partner. If fi ling separately, submit a copy of both partners’ NJ 
tax returns that list the same address. If Domestic Partnership occurred in 
the current calendar year, a copy of the tax return is not required. Or, if tax 
return is not available, provide a copy of a bank statement or bill (dated 
within 90 days of the application) that includes the names of both partners 
and is received at the same address.

CHILDREN

A subscriber’s child until age 26, regardless of the child’s marital, 
student, or fi nancial dependency status – even if the young adult 
no longer lives with his or her parents.

This includes a stepchild, foster child, legally adopted child, or 
any child in a guardian-ward relationship upon submitting re-
quired supporting documentation.

Natural or Adopted Child – A copy of the child’s birth certifi cate showing 
the name of the employee/retiree as a parent. 
Step Child – A copy of the child’s birth certifi cate showing the name of 
the employee/retiree’s spouse or partner as a parent and a copy of the 
marriage/partnership certifi cate showing the names of the employee/retir-
ee and spouse/partner.
Legal Guardian, Grandchild, or Foster Child – Copies of fi nal court or-
ders with the presiding judge’s signature and seal. Documents must attest 
to the legal guardianship by the employee.

DEPENDENT
CHILDREN WITH

DISABILITIES

If a covered child is not capable of self-support when he or she 
reaches age 26 due to mental illness or incapacity, or a physical 
disability, the child may be eligible for a continuance of coverage. 
Coverage for children with disabilities may continue only while 
(1) you are covered through the SHBP/SEHBP; (2) the child 
continues to be disabled; (3) the child is unmarried or does not 
enter into a civil union or domestic partnership; and (4) the child 
remains substantially dependent on you for support and mainte-
nance. You may be contacted periodically to verify that the child 
remains eligible for coverage.

Documentation for the appropriate “child” type (as noted above) and a 
copy of the front page of the employee/retiree’s federal tax return* (Form 
1040) from last year that includes the child. If Social Security disability has 
been awarded, or is currently pending, please include this information with 
the documentation that is submitted. Please note that this information is 
only verifying the child’s eligibility as a dependent. The disability status of 
the child is determined through a separate process.

CONTINUED
COVERAGE FOR

OVERAGE
CHILDREN

Certain children over age 26 may be eligible for continued cov-
erage until age 31 under the provisions of P.L. 2005, c. 375. This 
includes a child by blood or law who: (1) is under the age of 
31; (2) is unmarried or not a partner in a civil union or domestic 
partnership; (3) has no dependent(s) of his or her own; (4) is a 
resident of New Jersey or is a student at an accredited public 
or private institution of higher education, with at least 15 credit 
hours; and (5) is not provided coverage as a subscriber, insured, 
enrollee, or covered person under a group or individual health 
benefi ts plan, church plan, or entitled to benefi ts under Medicare.

Documentation for the appropriate “child” type (as noted above), and a 
copy of the front page of the child’s federal tax return* (Form 1040) from 
last year, and if the child resides outside of the State of New Jersey, doc-
umentation of full time student status must be submitted.

*You may black out all fi nancial information and all but the last four digits of any Social Security numbers on tax returns. To obtain copies of the documents listed 
above, contact the offi ce of the town clerk in the city of the birth, marriage, etc., or visit these websites: www.vitalrec.com or www.studentclearinghouse.org  
Residents of New Jersey can obtain records from the State Bureau of Vital Statistics and Registration website: www.nj.gov/health/vital/index.shtml

State Health Benefi ts Program (SHBP) • School Employees’ Health Benefi ts Program (SEHBP)

REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION FOR DEPENDENT ELIGIBILITY AND ENROLLMENT
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