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State of New Jersey
Unclaimed Safe Deposit Box or Other Repository Contents
General Reporting Requirements

The following information is intended only as a general guide of your obligations to report
unclaimed safekeeping contents. The Statute (Public Laws of 1989, Chapter 58, New Jersey
Statutes 46:30B-1 et seq.) and relevant administrative code attached should be referenced for a
complete statement of the law and its various details.

REPORTING

The unclaimed safe deposit general reporting requirements must be sent to this office before
November 1, of each year as of the proceeding June 30. If you have questions on safe deposit
box reporting, please contact Kem Springsteen at (609) 633-2024.

State of New Jersey
Department of Treasury
Unclaimed Property
Safekeeping Unit
PO Box 446
Trenton, NJ 08695 — 0446
Attn: Kem Springsteen

Please note: This office will not accept delivery of safekeeping contents by mail or in person from
a holder. You must not send the actual safekeeping contents. Safekeeping contents will
only be accepted after representatives from our office have reviewed the report and contents at
your location. This office will contact you prior to the inspection.

An estimated value must be provided for each individual item listed on the report per N.J.A.C.
18:13-1.4. If the value for the each item is not recorded, the report will be returned to the holder,
unless the correct code is used such as: miscellaneous papers, important papers, miscellaneous
items (contraband) or stock certificates. (See attached Codes)

NOTICE
You are required to give a written notice to the apparent owner not more than 120 days nor less
than 60 days before the report is filed provided that you have a last known address and the

property is valued at $ 50.00 or more (N.J.S.A. 46:30B-50).

ABANDONMENT CRITERIA

A holder of unclaimed safekeeping contents is required under N.J.S.A. 46:30B-45 to report the
contents to the State if the safekeeping contents remain unclaimed by the owner for more than
five years after the lease or rental period has expired.

REPORT YEAR
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The statutory cycle for safekeeping contents is July 1 through June 30. The abandonment period is five
years after the lease or rental period has expired. The report year is the year in which the report is due
(before November 1 following the 12-month period ending on June 30).

OWNER REQUIREMENTS

Each owner’s contents must be reported individually, and not intermingled with the contents of
other owners. Each owner must stand alone with regard to lien charges, sale expenses, and sale
proceeds.

INVENTORY OF CASH

Cash must be maintained in its original form, and not co-mingled with cash of other
owners. It must not be converted to any other cash instruments.

INVENTORY OF MISCELLANEQUS PAPERS

Miscellaneous papers may be lumped together and listed under the code of Miscellaneous Paper.
Only one important document should be detailed under the code of Important Paper

CONTRABAND

If weapons or contraband items (guns, bullets, knives over 4 1/2 inches long, illegal drugs, etc.)
are found at the time of drilling, the Holder should immediately notify the proper authorities. Do
not wait 5 years to inform the proper authorities! Follow your internal policy regarding
Contraband. The Holder must document the action taken. (See attached letter for specific
documentation.) Unclaimed contraband will not be accepted until the stated procedure is
complete.

SALE BY HOLDER OF SAFEKEEPING CONTENTS

A holder of safekeeping contents may elect to conduct its own sale or auction

(NJ 17:14A-51). If a holder conducts a sale or auction of safekeeping contents, the proceeds less
any lien charges, storage costs, and advertising costs must be reported and remitted to the state
five years after the lease or rental period has expired. The report must identify the individual
items sold as well as items not sold on the safekeeping report. The excess proceeds must
accompany the Unclaimed Safekeeping Report. The lien charges and sale expenses can only be
deducted from each individual box/unit. The Holder may not add together proceeds from all
box/units and seek total reimbursement for all lien charges and sale expenses. Proof of costs for
each individual box/unit must be maintained by the holder. Each box/unit must be accounted for
separately in all respects.
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DESTRUCTION OF CONTENTS

Contents that remain after a sale or auction, may be destroyed by a holder after the items are
verified as “worthless” by a state field representative (N.J.A.C. 18:13-1.6). Items considered
“worthless” are items of insubstantial commercial value including, but not limited to, personal
letters, food items (of any type), clothing (exclusive of furs), dentures, eyeglasses, personal
prosthetic devices, inexpensive trinkets, ashtrays, paperweights, High School/College textbooks,
notebooks-with/without personal writing,

personal snapshots/pictures, newspapers/magazines, personal documents, certificates,
diplomas, receipts — gas/electric/telephone/rent, training manuals (any profession), paperback
books, and paper clips/elastic bands (N.J.A.C. 18:13-1.4).

RECORD RETENTION

A holder of unclaimed safekeeping contents is required to maintain records related to
safekeeping items for a period of five years after the report is filed with the State. This includes
any records related to the original postings, certifications by notary public, lien charges, storage
costs, advertising costs, the State of New Jersey Safe Deposit Box Audit Report or other records
related to the safekeeping contents.



SAFE DEPOSIT BOX OR OTHER SAFEKEEPING REPOSITORY

UP-3A
OWNER INFORMATION
Page of
Holder/Branch
STORAGE BOX
PROPERTY CODE OWNER BOX/UNIT ABANDONED (MM DD YY) HOLDER CHARGES OF
(State Use Only)
OWNER LAST NAME (1) OWNER FIRST NAME MI SUFFIX OWNER SS# / FID # NO. OF OWNERS
OWNER LAST NAME (2) OWNER FIRST NAME MI SUFFIX OWNER SS# / FID # TITLE/OTHER
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COMMENT FIELD
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PROPERTY CODE OWNER BOX/UNIT ABANDONED (MM DD YY) HOLDER CHARGES OF
(State Use Only)
OWNER LAST NAME (1) OWNER FIRST NAME MI SUFFIX OWNER SS# / FID # NO. OF OWNERS
OWNER LAST NAME (2) OWNER FIRST NAME MI SUFFIX OWNER SS# / FID # TITLE/OTHER
OWNER STREET ADDRESS 1 OWNER STREET ADDRESS 2 CITY STATE ZIP COUNTRY (IF NOT U.S.)

COMMENT FIELD
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OWNER PAGE INSTRUCTIONS - UP3A

(Omit all Punctuation)

HOLDER/BRANCH:

PAGE NUMBER:

PROPERTY CODE:

OWNER BOX/UNIT #:

ABANDONED:

HOLDER CHARGES:

STORAGE BOX NUMBER:

OWNER LAST NAME:
FIRST NAME:

MI:

SUFFIX:

OWNER SS#/FID #:

NO. OF OWNERS:
TITLE/OTHER:
ADDRESS 1:

ADDRESS 2:

CITY:
STATE:
Z1P:
COUNTRY:

COMMENTS:

CATEGORY #:

SUB-CATEGORY:

QUANTITY:

DESCRIPTION OF ITEM:

ESTIMATED VALUE:

Enter the holder name and branch location.
Number pages of report 1 of 100, 2 of 100, etc.

The (Safety Deposit Code) SDO1-safe deposit contents, SD02-other
safekeeping repositories, SD03-other tangible property.

The number of the Safe Deposit Box/Unit that was assigned by the holder.

The date the property was considered abandoned, which is 5 years after the
owner’s failure to pay rents due.

Lien Charges; means the amount due to the holder for rental to the time of
removal of contents, and costs of opening, repairing, and restoration.

The number of the storage box that contains the box/unit (state use only).
Box/unit owner’s last name.

Owner’s first name.

Owner’s middle initial.

The owner is a Jr., Sr., etc.

Box/unit owner’s social security number. If company, federal identification
number.

Input number of box/unit owners.
Input complete account title (example: and/or, custodian, Mr/Mrs)
Street address of the owner.

This is to continue the owner’s address if needed. Include building number
or any additional information.

City of the owner’s address.

State of the owner.

Zip code of the owner.

Country of residence of the owner, if other than United States of America.

Space to add any additional, relevant information not covered in previous
fields.

Select a category number from the provided category list.

Select a sub-category from the provided category list. If not found, input
other with the closest category.

Number of items.

Detail the individual item with any pertinent information.

Each individual item must list an estimated value.



